Agriculture

Deleting Comments on YouTube

Deleting Comments on YouTube

It would be an understatement to suggest that YouTube comments have a negative reputation online. They are typically perceived as provocative, crude, and pointless.

If you’re fortunate, you can find valuable discussions on YouTube. You can find insightful or moving discussions regarding videos you enjoy watching. Some channels have an enthusiastic community of commenters.

However, it is far too simple to engage in pointless debates on this platform. You may likely encounter those who argue in poor faith. Avoiding violent language is difficult. A large number of marketing bots are also leaving irrelevant comments.

Overall, it is not surprising that many people find YouTube comments annoying. If this is the case for you, you might want to delete all your comments made on this platform, or if you are a content creator, you can delete the comments others have left on your channel.

Getting Rid Of Every Comment You’ve Ever Made On YouTube

It is easy to remove comments from any YouTube channel. The lone exception is remarks posted before to Google’s 2006 acquisition of YouTube.

How do you view your comments and delete them? Here are two such approaches:

Use Your Comment History

To view all of the comments you’ve made on this website, visit your YouTube Comment History page.

To delete a specific comment, follow these steps:

  1. Find the comment in your history.
  2. Select More (Three Horizontal Dots Icon).
  3. Select Delete.
  4. Confirm that you want to delete it permanently.

Unfortunately, there is no way to erase many comments at once from your comment history. If you want to remove everything you’ve ever said on this platform, you will need to continue deleting each and every one of your comments or adopt a different strategy and modify your channel.

Hide Your Channel

You have the ability to hide your channel on YouTube. This is a temporary solution that conceals your content, name, and subscribers and likes. The channel can be reactivated at any moment. The act of hiding a YouTube channel has no effect on how you use your Google account on other networks.

However, there is an unexpected benefit associated with this technique. All of your previous comments are erased. Unlike the previous alterations, this loss is irreversible.

It is sufficient to conceal your channel for a few minutes. When you re-enable it, all your old comments will be gone. What must you do to conceal your YouTube channel?

  1. Sign in to YouTube. If you own multiple accounts, make sure you are signed in with the right one.
  2. Click on Your Profile. Select your profile pic in the top right corner of the screen.
  3. Click on Advanced Account.
  4. Select the Remove channel by scrolling down. When you choose this option, you may be prompted to enter your Google account’s email address and password again. Clicking this option will not permanently erase your channel.
  5. Choose I wish to hide my channel. On various YouTube versions, the same option may be named “I wish to conceal my content.”
  6. I want to hide my channel. After you click on this, YouTube will show you exactly what you can expect if you go through with hiding your channel.
  7. Examine each choice on the list. The list indicates that direct Google+ comments will not be erased. However, concealing your channel will delete all of your YouTube comments from all channels permanently. Your subscriptions and likes are temporarily hidden. Once you’ve completed the criteria, click HIDE MY CHANNEL.

This is all you have to do to get rid of your comments. Now, it is time to reactivate your account:

  1. Sign in to YouTube with Your Google Account.
  2. Go to Create a Channel. Follow this URL: http://www.youtube.com/create_channel.
  3. Fill Out the Form.

Make sure you do not click on To use a business or other name, click here. After all, you are not looking to make an entirely new channel.

This procedure ought to restore your channel. You can then make your videos accessible using Video Manager.

Reporting Comments

What then can you do if you are neither the original commenter nor the video’s owner? You can make a report if you find something on YouTube that violates the company’s community guidelines. Depending on the findings of an investigation, the comment may or may not be removed.

  1. Locate the video and reveal the comments.
  2. Tap on the three vertical dots.
  3. Select Report from the pop-up menu.
  4. Choose one of the following options.
  5. Tap Report in the lower corner of the pop-up.

The following are your choices for reporting the content:

  • Unwanted commercials, content, or spam
  • Pornography or explicit materials
  • Hate or Graphic Speech
  • Harassment or bullying

YouTube attempts to shield others from damaging speech, albeit you may not have the same powers to delete comments as if you were the original author.

Conclusion

Deleting your own YouTube comments is a terrific way to start over. It can be a satisfying experience to delete humiliating or excessively personal remarks posted years ago. Remember that it is much simpler to use this platform when you take charge of your own experiences and restrict the amount of people with whom you engage.

error: Content is protected !!